Unshakeable, unbreakable and unreadable

(Flickr photo by Sindesign) This is probably what my book problem will look like if unsolved next week.

They pile up like no one’s business, and I can’t seem to get through one without buying another three along the way.

Books are quickly becoming something that won’t come off my to-do list.

I’ve always been a bit of a big reader, but have fallen out of the habit of reading as often as I should. As a result, my list of books to read has grown to somewhere around 15. And new, interesting titles are printed almost continuously.

It’s rather sad, really, that books are the one thing with which I’m losing touch. But, that seems to be the modern message of the day.

When I was younger, I could spend a weekend just reading and knock out at least one book each weekend. Some of the stories I read were incredible – Frank Peretti, Diane Carey, Dean Koontz, Stephen King, Clive Cussler – all modern writers who have brilliant imaginations. Their creations danced in my head for days when finished, showing just how strong their words are.

Unfortunately, I think I’m not alone in the matter of not reading as often as I’d like. Like a past post about not having the Internet said, time opens up when you’re not on the computer doing “homework.”

Now, I should also mention that my taste in books has changed just ever so slightly. Instead of the edge-of-your-seat action book, or the suspenseful thriller, I’ve found myself engrossed in some current events and history books. Yes, I take an odd liking to history… just when I can get around to reading about it.

Instead of purchasing physical books, our eyes have been turned to the fascinating possibility of Kindles and Nooks, eReaders and other high-tech gizmos. Why have 15 books lying around when you can have just one?

At times, that actually seems rather appealing…

Some friends of mine say that they read more with an eReader, since they can always just carry it with them wherever they go – just like a book. They also argue that they can read it at night – just like a book (with a little thing called electricity). They also say they never lose their place with an eReader, unlike in a book – something that can be solved with a bookmark. Sure, it looks cooler to have an eReader, and one could fit in with the crowd.

There are even some places that are considering eReaders in school – for¬†elementary students. Whether it’s more cost-effective or not, in my opinion, it’s the wrong path. After all, districts are facing almost persistent annual budget cuts. I find it amazing that some can afford iPads and eReaders yet toss out some decent staff.

So, to remedy this persistent problem of a growing book supply, it seems that there are really only two options.

With one, I could read more. Sure it might take a bit more time out of the day, but then again, it would absolutely cut the number of books just lying around, like a bunch of squatters. The second option is to stop buying books, which would only lead to a massive binge someday soon.

Either option has its own perks and downsides, but I figure something needs to be done. At least reading books isn’t nearly as bad as needing to clean dishes, or toss out a litter box, or wash some clothes.

Or perhaps, I could just buy an eReader.

2 comments

  1. Thanks for the link! You might want to check out some other libraries that are offering ereaders and ebooks (most of which are middle schools and high school). Buffy Hamilton at http://theunquietlibrary.wordpress.com/ is a good place to start.
    Also, the only way our elementary school could afford them is through donations from our parent association, not the school budget.

Leave a Reply

