Reacting to “The Hunger Games”: Wow

I can sum up “The Hunger Games” movie  in one word: Wow.

But, there’s a lot going in to that one word.

I haven’t read the Suzanne Collins trilogy, although I’m really considering it after seeing the movie. In fact, it arrived last week, and after I’m done with my current book, “Michael Vey and the Prisoner of Cell 25,” it’ll be my reading material. I know this is a bit late, seeing as the movie has been out for ages – I meant to get this out quite a while ago…

The story in “The Hunger Games” was rich, the characters were complex and the pacing was nice and steady. It’s an incredible movie that’s both visually appealing and mentally engaging. Not to mention, it’s the only movie that’s made me think Elizabeth Banks was a man until I heard her character speak! (I’m sorry, it’s just the costume and makeup that made you do a double-take. I didn’t know it was her until a few days after seeing the movie.)

That being said, I had a weird look on my face throughout the two hours that rarely went away. My brow was furled with a puzzled expression as to what was happening on the screen. The one thing going through my mind was, “Why don’t they speak out against this game?”

Both the left and right wings of the political sphere have made statements claiming the movie represents their struggle, for lack of a better term. But what happens in “The Hunger Games” is the complete antithesis of freedom and the United States as we know it today. Just do the math: 814 children died in this scenario over the past 74 years.

These districts have been subject to the horrendous 74-year-old “tradition” of sending one of their own children to die for a crime many never even committed. The country’s capital calls it repentance,  payment, or something along that line, for a revolution in the past. But the districts don’t speak out against the terrible crime, the genocide, being committed against them.

No one says a word. Whether it’s out of fear of the unknown or the lack of any hope that may come from such an action, no one speaks out. Families are torn apart and people live in fear because no one takes the chance to make a stand (at least in the first part of the series). Like I said, I have yet to read the rest of the series, and fully intend to. But the bleak picture painted by the movie is too obvious to ignore.

Or, perhaps I’m looking at this in too grand of a scope. The movie itself was very well-made, and the characters are incredibly real.

What was your reaction to the movie? (Apart from the great visuals, storyline and acting!)

4 comments

    1. I’m hoping to hit the first one this weekend… that’ll likely change my outlook! Especially from what people are saying.
      And many thanks for the comment!

      1. I’ll be sure to put a post up. Yeah, it shouldn’t take too long, it’s not like they’re Tolstoy’s War and Peace or anything.

Leave a Reply

